A new type of silhoutte

Hey guys!

Today I recreated my collage silhouette of the little bird seen in my blog “Not Your average Photo Collage!” Its fairly easy to do, and exceedingly cheap to make. It would make a good teen craft (lots of personalized art in any colour you want it!).

First things first. Materials:

-A bunch of magazines you can chop up

-Various paint brushes (You might need some precise tips depending on your design)

-Clear glue

-A fine point pen

-Acrylic paint any colour

-A cheap frame (I got mine for $2 at the dollar store)

-Scrap cardboard (To put your glue and paint on)

Step 1: Rip out some colourful pages with some fun patterns on it and glue them in the general location that you want. You can glue them on anything. The bird collage I glued right to the back of the frame. You could do it on an artist canvas if you wanted, or a piece of cardboard like I did for this tutorial.

Step 2: Let your glued down pages dry.

Step 3: Draw out your design on top of the magazine pages.

Step 4: Paint carefully around your design. Depending on the quality of the paint you might have to do multiple coats. Mine took about 2-3 coats.

Step 5: Let it dry and frame it!

See! Pretty easy! Other variations I’ve seen have included old music sheets, gift wrap, old maps, and newspaper. All the tutorials that I found used vinyl letters that were placed over top of the pages and then painted over and removed, so you could create saying. I found it hard to find vinyl letters in a font that I liked and in the size I was looking for so I improvised. I’ll leave a link to some other peoples ideas, to help get your creative juices flowing. Click here to see them.

Let me know what you think!

-Pearl

3 thoughts on “A new type of silhoutte

Let me know what you think!

